Thursday, 26 August 2010

Inter monopolise UEFA club awards

Inter have achieved a clean sweep at the 2010 UEFA Club Football Awards in Monaco, the first time such a feat has been achieved since the awards' inception in 1998.

Diego Milito, who scored both goals in Inter's 2-0 UEFA Champions League final defeat of Bayern Munich in Madrid in May, secured the overall prize as UEFA Club Footballer of the Year, voted for, like all these accolades, by the coaches of the teams that reached the round of 16 last season.

Milito was also named UEFA Club Forward of the Year, emulating the double claimed by Ronaldo for Inter in 1998, after beating off fellow nominees Lionel Messi – who lifted both prizes in 2009 – and Wayne Rooney.

Inter playmaker Wesley Sneijder took the plaudits as UEFA Club Midfielder of the Year, for which his Netherlands colleague Arjen Robben and Xavi Hernandez were also nominated.

Full-back Douglas Maicon was voted the UEFA Club Defender of the Year, a category in which his Nerazzurri team-mate Lucio was a nominee along with Gerard Pique.

And Julio Cesar completed the Inter clean sweep, getting the nod as UEFA Club Goalkeeper of the Year ahead of Hugo Lloris and Victor Valdes.

Source: UEFA

No comments:

Post a Comment