Wednesday, 4 August 2010

Triestina reprieved; New clubs enter Lega Pro

Relegated Triestina have been brought back into Serie B to replace Ancona, who were thrown out alongside 20 Lega Pro clubs for their poor financial standings.

The 2009-10 Serie B season ended with Ancona avoiding the drop on the final day, sending Triestina through to a relegation play-out tie.

They lost that 3-0 on aggregate to Padova and were relegated to Lega Pro 1, but today they were formally recalled back to the second tier by the Italian Football Federation (FIGC)'s Federal Council.

Ancona left a vacancy in Serie B after they could not cover their debts, reported to be around 4million euros, and therefore failed the financial tests set up by Italian football's governing body.

All clubs in Italy must prove their financial stability to the Covisoc financial committee before they are allowed to register for the season.

With Triestina leaving Lega Pro 1 and with Arezzo, Figline, Gallipoli, Mantova, Marcianise, Perugia and Rimini all kicked out last month, Paganese, Pavia, Siracusa, Barletta, Gela, Bassano, Nocerina and Pisa all submitted their candidacy and passed an entry criteria to fill the vacancies in the two 18-team divisions that form the third tier of Italian football.

It was even worse in Lega Pro 2 with 13 clubs crashing out this summer: Legnano, Potenza, Pro Vercelli, Sangiustese, Alghero, Cassino, Itala San Marco, Manfredonia, Monopoli, Olbia, Pescina, Pro Vasto and Scafatese.

They were replaced in part by Bellaria, Matera, Carrarese, Carpi, Pro Belvedere, Pomezia, Latina, Casale, Trapani, Virtus Entella, Vigor Lamezia, Nuovo Campobasso, L'Aquila, Avellino, Renate and Sanremese.

However, there weren't enough clubs passing the criteria so the three divisions that make up the fourth tier will have an uneven number of teams competing in the new season from the usual 18.

Lega Pro President Mario Macalli suggested that these 'recalls' should be abolished from next season and a new system put in place.

As for the clubs excluded, most will be expected to apply for a place in the regional amateur Serie D league - the highest non-professional league, next season, or start all over again at the bottom of the Italian football pyramid.

Following the announcements, the Lega Pro confirmed the formation of the groups for the 2010-11 season. The clubs are divided into each group mainly according to geographical principles. The Serie B line-up was also confirmed.

Serie B
Albinoleffe, Ascoli, Atalanta, Cittadella, Crotone, Empoli, Frosinone, Grosseto, Livorno, Modena, Novara, Padova, Pescara, Piacenza, Portosummaga, Reggina, Siena, Sassuolo, Torino, Triestina, Varese, Vicenza.

Lega Pro Prima Divisione (Lega Pro 1)
Girone A: Alessandria, Alto Adige-Sud Tirol, Bassano, Como, Cremonese, Gubbio, Lumezzane, Monza, Paganese, Pavia, Pergocrema, Ravenna, Reggiana, Salernitana, Sorrento, Spal, Spezia, Verona.
Girone B: Andria BAT, Atletico Roma, Barletta, Benevento, Cavese, Cosenza, Foggia, Foligno, Gela, Juve Stabia, Lucchese, Nocerina, Pisa, Siracusa, Taranto, Ternana, Viareggio, Virtus Lanciano.

Lega Pro Seconda Divisione (Lega Pro 2)
Girone A: Canavese, Casale, Feralpi Salo, Lecco, Mezzocorona, Montichiari, Pro Belvedere Vercelli, Pro Patria, Renate, Rodengo Saiano, Sacilese, Sambonifacese, Sanremese, Savona, Tritium, Valenza, Virtus Entella.
Girone B: Bellaria, Carpi, Carrarese, Celano, Chieti, Crociati Noceto, Fano, Gavorrano, Giacomense, Guilianova, L'Aquila, Poggibonsi, Prato, San Marino, Sangiovanese, Villacidrese.
Girone C: Avellino, Aversa Normanna, Brindisi, Campobasso, Catanzaro, Fondi, Isola Liri, Latina, Matera, Melfi, Milazzo, Neapolis Mugnano, Pomezia, Trapani, Vibonese, Vigor Lamezia.

[Ancona and 20 Lega Pro clubs thrown out]

Source: FIGC / Lega Serie B / Lega Pro

No comments:

Post a Comment