Thursday, 15 July 2010

Dates set for 2010-11 Italian season

The Lega Serie A has announced the 2010-11 Serie A championship will kick off on the weekend of 28 and 29 August and will conclude on 22 May 2011, with the fixtures set to be released on 28 July.

The decision was confirmed after a general assembly meeting of Lega Serie A officials and top-flight clubs in Milan today.

There will be four midweek rounds next season on 22 September, 10 November, 6 January and 2 February, with three breaks for 2012 UEFA European Championship qualifiers on 5 September, 10 October and 27 March.

The winter break will start after the last round of the calendar year on 19 December and will last until 6 January, so there will be no matches on the weekends of 26 December and 2 January.

As in previous years, there will be two Saturday games - one at 5pm UK time (+1hr for Italy/CET) and the other at 7.45pm, and the rest on Sunday - one at a new 11.30am time slot, six at the traditional 2pm slot and an evening game at 7.45pm.

However, there will be changes to the normal schedules during the summer months of August and May, La Befana public holiday on 6 January, the Easter weekend and on other matchdays - should Italian clubs progress to the latter stages of European competitions. These changes will be announced nearer to the time.

The top-flight fixtures, confirmed Lega Serie A President Maurizio Beretta, will be compiled and presented in Milan on 28 July.

The 2010-11 Coppa Italia competition will commence with the First Round on 8 August and the single-match Final will take place in Rome on 29 May 2011, although that could be moved to 11 June should one or both of the finalists reach the UEFA Champions League final on 28 May.

Despite much criticism, the format of the cup remains unchanged with all the Serie B clubs entering in the Second Round on 15 August, while the first batch of Serie A clubs begin in the Third Round on 27 October and the top seeds enter in the Fifth Round. Only the two semi-final ties will be decided over two matches in April and May 2011.

The Supercoppa Italiana final - the traditional curtain raiser to the Italian football season - between Serie A champions and Coppa Italia holders Inter and runners-up Roma will take place in Milan on 21 August.

Meanwhile, the newly rebranded and independent Serie B will kick off on 22 August, with an exact timetable expected to be announced shortly.

Serie A 2010-11
Opening Matchday (Round 1)
Sunday 29 August 2010
Final Matchday (Round 38)
Sunday 22 May 2011
Midweek Matchdays
Wednesday 22 September 2010
Wednesday 10 November 2010
Thursday 6 January 2011
Wednesday 2 February 2011
International Breaks
Sunday 5 September 2010
Sunday 10 October 2010
Sunday 27 March 2011
Winter/Christmas Break
Sunday 26 December 2010
Sunday 2 January 2011

Serie B 2010-11
Opening Matchday (Round 1)
Sunday 22 August 2010

Coppa Italia 2010-11
First Round
Sunday 8 August 2010
Second Round
Sunday 15 August 2010
Third Round
Wednesday 27 October 2010
Fourth Round
Thursday 25 November or Tuesday 30 November 2010
Fifth Round
Thursday 9 December, Tuesday 14 December 2010, or Wednesday 12 January 2011
Wednesday 26 January 2011
Semi-Finals (First Leg)
Wednesday 20 April 2011
Semi-Finals (Second Leg)
Wednesday 11 May 2011
Sunday 29 May or Saturday 11 June 2011

Supercoppa Italiana 2010
Saturday 21 August 2009

Source: Lega Serie A

No comments:

Post a Comment