Monday, 22 June 2009

[UCL] Draw kicks off the race to Madrid

The first two rounds of the UEFA Champions League qualifying stage have been drawn at UEFA headquarters in Nyon today.

UEFA Champions League 2010The first qualifying round - which kicks off next week - comprises of just four clubs from UEFA's four lowest ranked countries, who will be bidding to grab the last two places in the second qualifying round.

Thirty-two more clubs enter the draw in the second round, including the likes of BATE Borisov, Copenhagen, Dinamo Zagreb and Partizan Belgrade.

The draw for the third qualifying round takes place on 17 July. Fiorentina, who finished fourth in Serie A last term and need to qualify, will enter the competition in the fourth stage of qualifying - the Play-off Round in mid-August.

The final will be held at the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium in Madrid on Saturday 22 May 2010.

UEFA Champions League 2009-10
First Qualifying Round
First leg: 30 June/1 July - Second leg: 7/8 July
[1] Tre Fiori (SNM) 1-1 Sant Julia (AND) / Sant Julia 1-1 Tre Fiori AET (Pens: 5-4)
[2] Hibernians (MLT) 0-2 Mogren (MNE) / Mogren 4-0 Hibernians

Second Qualifying Round
First leg: 14/15 July - Second leg: 21/22 July
Tirana (ALB) 1-1 Stabaek (NOR) / Stabaek 4-0 Tirana
WIT Georgia (GEO) 0-0 Maribor (SVN) / Maribor 3-1 WIT Georgia
EB/Streymur (FRO) 0-2 APOEL FC (CYP) / APOEL FC 3-0 EB/Streymur
Copenhagen (DEN) 6-0 Mogren (MNE) / Mogren 0-6 Copenhagen
Debrecen (HUN) 2-0 Kalmar (SWE) / Kalmar 3-1a Debrecen
Makedonija Skopje (MKD) 0-2 BATE Borisov (BLR) / BATE Borisov 2-0 Makedonija Skopje
Hafnarfjordur (ISL) 0-4 Aktobe (KAZ) / Aktobe 2-0 Hafnarfjordur
Pyunik (ARM) 0-0 Dinamo Zagreb (CRO) / Dinamo Zagreb 3-0 Pyunik
Ventspils (LVA) 3-0 Dudelange (LUX) / Dudelange 1-3 Ventspils
Ekranas (LTU) 2-2 Baki (AZE) / Baki 4-2 Ekranas
Salzburg (AUT) 1-1 Bohemians (IRL) / Bohemians 0-1 Salzburg
Zrinjski (BIH) 1-0 Slovan Bratislava (SVK) / Slovan Bratislava 4-0 Zrinjski
International Turku (FIN) 0-1 Sheriff (MDA) / Sheriff 1-0 International Turku
Rhyl (WAL) 0-4 Partizan Belgrade (SRB) / Partizan Belgrade 8-0 Rhyl
Wisla Krakow (POL) 1-1 Levadia Tallinn (EST) / Levadia Tallinn 1-0 Wisla Krakow
Levski Sofia (BUL) 4-0 Sant Julia (AND) / Sant Julia 0-5 Levski Sofia
Maccabi Haifa (ISR) 6-0 Glentoran (NIR) / Glentoran 0-8 Maccabi Haifa

Source: UEFA