Tuesday, 12 May 2009

[U17] Azzurrini qualify for World Cup

Italy will join Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland and Turkey in the FIFA Under-17 World Cup from 24 October to 15 November in Nigeria after ensuring top-three group finishes at the UEFA European Under-17 Championships.

Italy U17sSwitzerland had already confirmed their berth from Group A even before Tuesday's 0-0 draw with Spain ensured top spot and a semi-final place. Italy will join them in the last four after the Azzurrini beat France 2-1.

That result means that although Spain's bid for a hat-trick of European titles is over, they will have a chance to go one better than their runners-up finish behind Nigeria in the last World Cup in South Korea two years ago.

Hosts Germany and the Netherlands went into their final day Group B encounter knowing whatever the result, they would be both going to Nigeria. One other berth was still up for grabs, though, and Turkey claimed it with a 1-0 win against England.

FIFA Under-17 World Cup Qualifiers
Asia: Iran, Japan, South Korea, United Arab Emirates.
Africa: Nigeria (hosts), Algeria, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Niger.
North/Central America & Caribbean: Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, United States.
South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Uruguay.
Oceania: New Zealand.
Europe: Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey.

[UEFA Euro U17 Championships 2009]

Source: UEFA

No comments:

Post a Comment