Wednesday, 27 May 2009

[Primavera] Inter & Samp crash out

Holders Sampdoria and favourites Inter have been dumped out of the 2008-09 Campionato Primavera play-offs at the last 16 stage.

Campionato Primavera 2008-09Both sides were knocked out on the away-goals rule, with Palermo squeezing past Samp and Siena surprising the young Nerazzurri, when the two-legged ties came to a conclusion on Saturday afternoon.

Roma also failed to qualify for the last eight but Viareggio Tournament champions Juventus and Primavera Coppa Italia winners Genoa both eased through to the quarter-finals.

Last 16, First Leg Results
Saturday 16 May 2009
Albinoleffe 0-1 Lazio, Empoli 1-1 Chievo, Napoli 3-1 Genoa, Palermo 1-0 Sampdoria, Udinese 3-0 Roma.
Sunday 17 May 2009
Catania 2-4 Juventus, Siena 1-0 Inter.
Wednesday 20 May 2009
Treviso 2-1 Reggina.

Last 16, Second Leg Results
Saturday 23 May 2009
Chievo 4-3 Empoli (Agg: 5-4), Genoa 6-2 Napoli (Agg: 7-5), Inter 2-1 Siena (Agg: 2-2, Siena win on away-goals rule), Juventus 4-0 Catania (Agg: 8-2), Lazio 2-1 Albinoleffe (Agg: 3-1), Reggina 2-0 Treviso (Agg: 3-2), Roma 2-0 Udinese (Agg: 2-3), Sampdoria 3-2 Palermo (Agg: 3-3, Palermo win on away-goals rule).

The final phase of the competition will be played in neutral venues, decided by single matches, with the "Trofeo Giacinto Facchetti" being presented at Trento's Stadio Comunale Briamasco on Monday 8 June.

The draw for the quarter-finals and semi-finals were made on Tuesday.

Monday 1 June 2009
QF1: Chievo v Genoa (Borgo Valsugana)
QF2: Palermo v Juventus (Pergine Valsugana)
Tuesday 2 June 2009
QF3: Lazio v Siena (Borgo Valsugana)
QF4: Reggina v Udinese (Pergine Valsugana)

Thursday 4 June 2009
SF1: [QF1] v [QF2] (Trento)
Friday 5 June 2009
SF2: [QF3] v [QF4] (Pergine Valsugana)

Monday 8 June 2009
F: [SF1] v [SF2] (Trento)

Meanwhile, fans, organisers and sponsors of the competition have been voting for their players of the season.

Fans voted for Federico Mannini as the Primavera Player of the Season. The Siena defender finished ahead of Lecce's Antonio Bocchetti and Giuseppe Nazzani of Bologna in a poll that was organised by the competition sponsors.

Journalists and experts from La Gazzetta dello Sport newspaper and brodcaster Sky Sport voted for their best players in four different categories.

They named Vincenzo Fiorillo of Sampdoria as best goalkeeper, Genoa captain Andrea Signorini took the title of best defender, Fiorentina's Marco Augusto Romizi was the best midfielder and the award of best forward went to Samp's Guido Marilungo.

An overall best player accolade will be announced and presented after the final phase of the tournament.

PRIMAVERA 2008-09:
Sampdoria lift Primavera Supercoppa
Juventus triumph at Viareggio Tournament
Genoa lift Primavera Coppa Italia

Source: Lega Calcio

No comments:

Post a Comment