Tuesday, 25 November 2008

Nominees announced for Calcio awards

The Italian Footballers Association (AIC) has announced the nominees for the prestigious AIC Oscar del Calcio awards.

AIC Oscar del Calcio 2008The annual awards are voted for by Serie A's footballers during pre-season and the winners will be announced and presented with their awards at a glittering ceremony in Milan on January 19.

Eight top awards will be presented during the night including the Best Italian Footballer, Best Foreign Footballer and the Best Overall Footballer in Serie A during the 2007-08 season.

Juventus' Alessandro Del Piero, Roma's Daniele De Rossi and Andrea Pirlo of AC Milan are nominated for the Best Italian award, which was won by Roma's Francesco Totti last year.

Inter's Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Fiorentina's Adrian Mutu will fight it out with Ricardo Kaka for the best foreign prize, with the Milan player currently the holder of the title.

The coveted overall best player accolade, which was also awarded to Kaka last year, is chosen from among the winners of the best Italian and foreign awards.

Other awards will be handed out to the best goalkeeper, defender, youngster, manager and referee during the previous year.

AIC Oscar del Calcio 2008 nominees
Best Italian Footballer: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus), Daniele De Rossi (Roma), Andrea Pirlo (Milan).
Best Foreign Footballer: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Inter), Ricardo Kaka (Milan), Adrian Mutu (Fiorentina).
Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Sebastien Frey (Fiorentina), Julio Cesar (Inter).
Best Youngster: Mario Balotelli (Inter), Sebastian Giovinco (Juventus), Marek Hamsik (Napoli).
Best Defender: Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Philippe Mexes (Roma), Alessandro Nesta (Milan).
Best Manager: Carlo Ancelotti (Milan), Cesare Prandelli (Fiorentina), Luciano Spalletti (Roma).
Best Referee: Emidio Morganti, Roberto Rosetti, Massimiliano Saccani.

Source: AIC

No comments:

Post a Comment