UEFA general secretary David Taylor has confirmed that the Netherlands' first goal against Italy last night was legitimate.
Controversy surrounded Ruud Van Nistelrooy’s opener as he seemed to be standing in an offside position.
But Azzurri stopper Christian Panucci, who was lying off the pitch injured, was adjudged to have played him onside.
"Van Nistelrooy’s position was legal because of Panucci," UEFA official Taylor explained.
"The position of the defender must be taken into consideration for offside decisions, even if he is off the pitch.
"Therefore, according to the letter of the law, Holland’s first goal last night was perfectly valid.
"Lots of TV programmes have said that it shouldn’t have been allowed, but that isn’t the case because there was an Italian player in addition to the goalkeeper behind him."
Source: C4 Football Italia