Sunday, 22 June 2008

[Euro 2008] Netherlands 1-3 Russia

Dmitri Torbinski and Andrei Arshavin struck in the last eight minutes of extra time to take Russia into the Euro 2008 semi-finals at the expense of the Netherlands as Guus Hiddink eliminated the nation of his birth.

Quarter-Final 3
St. Jakob-Park, Basel
Russia's Andrei Arshavin was the architect as they dumped Netherlands out of Euro 2008 after extra time. Russia took the lead in normal time when Roman Pavlyuchenko volleyed home, only for Ruud van Nistelrooy to head in an 86th-minute leveller for the Dutch. But the brilliant Arshavin tormented Netherlands throughout and he crossed for Dmitri Torbinski to prod home. Arshavin then sealed a semi-final spot in the 116th minute as he ran through and fired low past Edwin van der Sar. Russia almost had to play with 10 men in extra time after Denis Kolodin was sent off by Lubos Michel in stoppage time, only for the referee to reverse his decision after a chat with one of his assistants. Russia will now play the winners of the final last eight tie between Spain and Italy on Thursday.

Netherlands: Van der Sar, Boulahrouz (Heitinga 54), Ooijer, Mathijsen, Van Bronckhorst, De Jong, Engelaar (Afellay 61), Kuyt (Van Persie 46), Van der Vaart, Sneijder, van Nistelrooy.
Russia: Akinfeev, Aniukov, Ignashevich, Kolodin, Zhirkov, Semak, Zyryanov, Semshov (Bilyaletdinov 69), Saenko (Torbinsky 81), Arshavin, Pavluchenko (Sychev 115).

[Euro 2008 QFs]

No comments:

Post a Comment